The Best VHS/DVD Converter Review

VHS-To-DVD-Converter

I have been on the hunt for a VHS to DVD converter for a while now, and when I came across The VHS to DVD Converter from Hammacher Schlemmer, I knew it was a machine I needed to try.

tapescollage.jpg

As you can see, I have a collection of almost 100 VHS tapes of my favorite movies, not counting the numerous home movies I have and wanted to switch to DVD.  Until now, all of these movies have just been sitting, collecting dust, and aging in a box.  Thanks to Hammacher Schlemmer, I have been having a blast converting these old dinosaur tapes to something that my children and I can actually watch and enjoy.

vcrcollage.jpg

For someone like myself who isn’t exactly technologically intelligent, the VHS/DVD converter has been a blessing because it is so simple to use.  It took me a few minutes to get the hang of it, but once I did it’s really as simple as push one button, and your tape is converted to a DVD.  If you want to be able to watch the DVD on a different machine, that’s actually really simple too.  Once your movie is done converting to DVD, simply go into the menu, and select finalize disc.  Now you’re ready to pop your DVD into any player, and watch the movies that bring back so many memories.

That all being said, you will need to keep in mind that not every VHS tape you have will convert.  Some are copy protected with macrovision, and will not allow the tape to be dubbed.  I have read that there is a way around that with a digital video stabilizer, but being that they are around $90, I just opted to buy the small stack of movies that won’t convert used on DVD.  Most of my movies did convert with no issue, and keep in mind this is not a defect in the machine, it’s doing exactly what it’s supposed to do and protecting the material on the tape like it’s supposed to.

This is a really cool little machine, and I can’t wait until I’m done converting the last few movies so I can finally rid myself of the big bulky box of VHS tapes.

***I did not receive any financial compensation, simply the product free to me in exchange for my honest and unbiased opinion***

One thought on “The Best VHS/DVD Converter Review

  1. Pingback: Stephany’s Valentine’s Gift Guide 2016 | Stephany's Sweet Life

Leave a Reply

