Black Forest Banana Bread Recipe

I love, love LOVE baking!  Recently I’ve gotten a few new cookbooks and have been really enjoying putting them to use.  One of my favorite new cookbooks is Dump Cakes by Cathy Mitchell.

Banana bread has always been a favorite of mine since I was a kid.  When I found an awesome twist on it in the Dump Cakes cookbook I knew I was going to try that first above anything else.  I hope all of you try this for yourself and see how amazing it is 🙂

blackforestbananabread

BLACK FOREST BANANA BREAD:

1 jar (10 ounces) maraschino cherries

2/3 cup packed brown sugar

1/3 cup butter, softened

1 cup mashed ripe bananas

2 eggs

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

3/4 cups chopped pecans (I used walnuts)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Spray a 9×5-inch loaf pan with non-stick cooking spray.  Drain cherries, reserving 2 tablespoons of the juice.  Coarsely chop the cherries.

Combine brown sugar and butter in large bowl; beat with electric mixer at medium speed for 2 minutes or until creamy.  Beat in bananas, eggs and reserved cherry juice until well blended.  Stir in chopped cherries, chocolate chips, and pecans (or whatever type of nut you choose to use if any).  Pour batter into prepared pan.

Bake for 1 hour or until golden brown and toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.  Cool in the pan for 10 minutes; remove to wire rack to cool completely.

I hope you guys enjoy this as much as I did, and remember, this is just one of the simply amazing things available in Cathy Mitchell’s Quick and Easy Dump Cakes and More

***No compensation was given of any kind.  I bought this cookbook for myself, and absolutely love it.  My post is in no way sponsored or endorsed by Cathy Mitchell or anyone associated with her***

Leave a Reply

