An Introduction to Prepping

Prepping is a subject you will start seeing on my blog. For those if you who don’t know, prepping is basically preparing yourself for a doomsday scenario. Something that would change life as we know it. The more I sat back and started thinking, it actually sounded practical.

I started thinking, “what would happen in a catastrophic situation? What would happen to my kids? How long could I keep them alive?” I was terrified at the realization that, at best, I could keep my kids fed for a week, maybe even only a few days. That absolutely had to change.

Over the past few months I have been slowly but surely starting to try and make sure we survive much longer than a week if anything life-changing were to happen. I have been buying a few extra things at the store each time I go, but it all adds up. I have at least a few weeks worth of food put away for my family of 5, and the food stock is growing all the time.

I’m also trying to prepare for practical needs. Things like medical supplies, alternate sources of power, lights, ability to cook, ability to heat, all of these are going to be staples of staying alive.

You can only store so much food, so I am also storing fruit and vegetable seeds. My goal is to have enough food to sustain our family until we were able to harvest our own fresh foods. They will also be great bartering items in a world where there’s no money and food, especially fresh food, is in high demand.

Okay, I know there are some of you who are reading my post thinking “this woman has gone bananas”. Do I know for sure that there’s going to be a catastrophic situation? No, I don’t. But, I’m not willing to take that chance. I love having the peace of mind that if something were to happen, I will be able to keep my family alive.  In the future I will be reviewing items that can come in handy every day, or especially handy for people that are preppers. If anything, I hope you keep these products in mind and start preparing things for your family as well.

2 thoughts on “An Introduction to Prepping

  1. My only fear would be that if people are hungry and they know you have food what stops them from forcing themselves into your house?

Leave a Reply

